Gainesville DUI Manslaughter Defense Attorneys
Available 24/7 to Fight Your DUI Manslaughter Charge
If you’ve been arrested for DUI manslaughter in Florida, you must act fast. The law does not mess around when it comes to penalizing those convicted of this offense, which means you could be looking at up to 15 years in prison and thousands of dollars in fines without the right defense lawyer on your side. At Barbarette & Quirk, our Gainesville DUI manslaughter attorneys have more than 40 years of combined legal experience, during which time we have developed respected professional relationships with the same local judges and prosecutors who will likely be working on your case. We know how they think and operate, and, more importantly, we know how to build a strategic defense that will resonate with them in court. As such, you can rest assured that you are in good hands when you choose us for your defense.
We are available 24/7. Contact us online or by calling (352) 356-4999 for a free consultation!
What is the Difference Between DUI Manslaughter & Vehicular Homicide in Florida?
According to the Florida Bar, “One of the most important distinctions among … vehicular homicide and DUI manslaughter are that each has a different threshold of negligence … Vehicular homicide contains the middle standard of recklessness or willful or wanton disregard for safety, and DUI manslaughter contains the lowest standard—simple negligence.”
- DUI manslaughter: The defendant, while driving under the influence, causes another person’s death due to simple negligence; unlike vehicular homicide, which requires willful or wanton behavior to convict.
- Example: Operating a vehicle under the influence and killing another driver after speeding through a stop sign and hitting the victim’s car in an intersection.
- Vehicular homicide: the defendant recklessly operates their vehicle with a “willful or wanton disregard for safety.” The prosecution must prove the intent element.
- Example: Speeding in a windy, two-lane road during dangerous weather conditions and killing another driver by attempting to pass another car in a no-passing zone.
What are the Penalties for DUI Manslaughter in Florida?
DUI manslaughter is a second-degree felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of four years in prison, which could increase to 15 years at the judge’s discretion. Further, you may face driver’s license revocation, as well as steep fines amounting to up to $10,000. A conviction could not only cost you your freedom and financial stability, but also rob you of your livelihood: Your ability to commute to work, take care of your family’s needs and travel outside of your home could have devastating impacts on you and your family’s wellbeing.
If you are currently facing DUI manslaughter charges, we will handle your case as if it were our own freedoms at stake. You can count on us to be available around-the-clock, exhaust our resources and insights to build your case, and stand by your side as fierce advocates no matter how challenging or complex the situation gets. Our goal is to reduce your sentence or dismiss your charges altogether so you can move forward with your life.
We offer a free consultation. Call (352) 356-4999 today!