According to Florida state law, simple assault is defined as intentionally threatening another person with violence, while inciting fear that the act of violence will be carried out. Aggravated assault involves the use of a deadly weapon including a gun, knife, car, or any other item that could cause serious bodily harm or death.
At Barbarette & Quirk, we understand how confusing and stressful it is to be facing a criminal assault charge, especially when it seems like your side of the story isn't being heard. When we are hired to take on an assault case, we perform a thorough investigation by visiting the scene of the offense, researching all applicable laws, preparing our client and witnesses with exhaustive cross-examination, and more.
Call (352) 356-4999 anytime, 24/7 to speak with our Gainesville assault lawyer.
In Florida, to be charged with assault, intent to cause bodily harm needs to be established. Showing intent to cause physical harm or causing physical harm is a simple assault charge. Simple assault is a second degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail, six months of probation, and up to a $500 fine.
Aggravated assault is essentially assault with a deadly weapon. Aggravated assault is a felony offense punishable by up to five years’ imprisonment, five years’ probation, and a $5,000 fine.
Assault is heavily prosecuted. If you are facing assault charges, you should immediately get in touch with an experienced criminal defense attorney team who can help you work through your circumstances and pursue the best possible outcome.
Contact our firm by phone or by email as soon as you have been charged so that we can get started on preparing your case right away. The more time we have, the better chances you have for obtaining a favorable outcome.